Blog Tour

My good friend and fellow cartoonist  Carl Antonowicz tagged me in this blog tour thing. Enjoy reading about my writing process…cause I rarely ever do.

1) What am I working on?
Around the time I beat Final Fantasy Seven I decided to draw a fantasy based graphic novel. Black River is the result. I’m currently churning out pages at the first Ghostshrimp Residency program in Hardwick Vermont. Its easy to draw the forest when you live in one. 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? Black River is rooted in a fantasy world with goblins and wizards. The twenty somethings that play the main characters are thrown into this world. They don’t exactly care about their predicament. I spent a summer only drawing diary comics. Black River is 80 percent real stuff from my real life. It differs, in that it’s like Kevin Smith movies chilling in a Lord of The Ring setting with no real over arching plot (yet).

3) Why do I write what I do? The summer after I graduated from The Center for Cartoon Studies, I had a rough time. I was keeping busy by drawing diary comics. I really grew a lot visually that year. Diary comics write themselves. I actually dislike writing stuff. Black River reads so well because most of it is real conversations I’ve partook in. I’m never going to be able to write as hilarious as my friends just being themselves. Even this answering of questions is weird and hard for me. Is this even making sense anymore?

4) How does your writing process
work? I spend a lot of time at my job just thinking about comics. How the next page is going to look and how the dialog will work the best. When I sit down to draw it all out, it flows out pretty simply. Most of the writing process is me figuring out how to get from plot point B to plot point D while throwing in the joke that is point C. I try to get at least one joke on every page. Usually that joke is just for me. Black River, however, IS just for me. I feel like I’m the only one who likes it. If I’m writing all the stuff I dig, maybe someone will dig that same stuff.

 

Now I have to tag people I want to pass the buck to! You should check in on Andrew, Denis and Mia next week…cause I tag them

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

