a sigh of relief.

Man, no one tells you how busy you’ll be during your graduation. I hardly even had time to party with my fellow graduates.

I forgot my camera, but my friend Randall got some good photos of the graduation march across town, and aftermath.

My sister bought a long box of comics from some yard sale for me. The highlight inside it was a full run of Katsuhiro Otomo’s Akira! She brought me the first two books:

They’re in pretty sweet condition. They’re full color 1988 Mash-Room copies. I’ve only read the black and white re-prints that came out a couple of years ago.

Otomo’s AMAZING at speed lines:

The panels where the dude “screeches” and pulls Takashi around the corner is GREAT! Also, I super like the way he shows that gun firing a bullet in the bottom left panel.

Plus, Otomo sure knows how to draw an explosion!
It’s so liquid and flowing! My eye pretty much flows over it like a real fire.

GREAT stuff. I can’t wait to read the rest of them.

Also, for graduation, my parents got my advisor, Brandon Graham, to draw me this:

Complete with a creepy little CCS baby. I’m too excited.

>phew< I haven't gotten to draw much of anything all week. Friday, I worked for about 3 hours in the morning. I drew the first page of a western comic I'm redrawing from last year. I'm thinking of doing it in full color.

It’ll be nice to have some time to draw again. So, I’ll post them as they come.

Audio: Tokyo Police Club.Champion / Jonsi.Go Do

Visual: Game of Thrones.Season 01 / Skins.Season 05

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for the ping-back buddy!

    I just came across the 5th collected volume down in the lab that someone left amongst all the FREE stuff…but I am still super jealous of you full color versions! Those pages look awesome!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

